Books

List Price:$22.95
FP Price:$13.77
Available as e-book on:

More [+]

Beatriz Preciado has become one of the leading thinkers in the study of gender and sexuality.

more about this author

Testo Junkie

Sex, Drugs, and Biopolitics in the Pharmacopornographic Era
Beatriz Preciado

Translated by Bruce Benderson

What constitutes a "real" man or woman in the twenty-first century? Since birth control pills, erectile dysfunction remedies, and factory-made testosterone and estrogen were developed, biology is definitely no longer destiny.

In this penetrating analysis of gender, Beatriz Preciado shows the ways in which the synthesis of hormones since the 1950s has fundamentally changed how gender and sexual identity formulated, and how the pharmaceutical and pornography industries are in the business of creating desire. This riveting continuation of Foucault's The History of Sexuality also includes Preciado's diaristic account of her own use of testosterone every day for one year, and it's mesmerizing impact on her body as well as her imagination.

“Beatriz Preciado’s brilliant book oscillates between high theory
and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical
formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories
of gender,Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the
deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today.”

José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia

“Inventive, daring, and blindingly lucid, Beatriz Preciado
opens a new branch of philosophical practice.”

Avital Ronell, author of Crack Wars

“Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity
politics of taking T to others and instead, in the tradition of
William Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, she conducts a
wild experiment on her own body. The results are spectacular . . .
The gendered body will never be the same again.”

Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

Also Of Interest

share