Testo Junkie

Testo Junkie

18.36 22.95

Paul B. Preciado
Sex, Drugs, and Biopolitics in the Pharmacopornographic Era
 

Quantity:
Add To Cart

Paperback Edition
ISBN: 978-1-5586-1837-4
Publication Date: 09-17-2013

Available as an ebook on:
Kindle
Nook
Apple iBooks
Kobo

 

What constitutes a "real" man or woman in the twenty-first century? Since birth control pills, erectile dysfunction remedies, and factory-made testosterone and estrogen were developed, biology is definitely no longer destiny.

In this penetrating analysis of gender, Paul B. Preciado shows the ways in which the synthesis of hormones since the 1950s has fundamentally changed how gender and sexual identity are formulated, and how the pharmaceutical and pornography industries are in the business of creating desire. This riveting continuation of Michel Foucault's The History of Sexuality also includes Preciado's diaristic account of his own use of testosterone every day for one year, and its mesmerizing impact on his body as well as his imagination.

 

“Testo Junkie is a wild ride. Preciado leaves the identity politics of taking T to others, and instead, in the tradition of William S. Burroughs, Kathy Acker, and Jean Genet, he conducts a wild textual experiment. The results are spectacular . . . The gendered body will never be the same again.” —Jack Halberstam, author of The Queer Art of Failure

“Paul B. Preciado’s brilliant book oscillates between high theory and the surging rush of testosterone. Flush with elegant theoretical formulations, lascivious sex narratives, and astute histories of gender, Testo Junkie is a key text to comprehend the deep interconnectedness of sex and drugs today.” —José Esteban Muñoz, author of Cruising Utopia